Lake Superior Sea Dogs

08/16/2019 - 2019 Team Awards

The Lake Superior Sea Dogs have announced their 2019 team awards.

Most Valuable Player Award

Jake Lewis is the team's 2019 MVP, for he led the club in value over replacement player (VORP) at 17.29. Pitchers Seth Anderson (5.63) and Jesse Olson (4.91) finished second and third, followed by Kevin Hendrickx (4.15), Kyle Bellin (3.80), and Michael Karp (3.77).

Lewis was 3-0 with a 1.56 ERA in 34.2 innings pitched. He led the team in wins, ERA, innings pitched, and strikeouts (47). He notched his third team MVP award (he also earned MVP honors in 2016 and 2018). 

Cy Young Award

The Cy Young Award goes to the team's top pitcher. This year's award goes to Jake Lewis for the reasons listed above. He previously won the award in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2018.

Rookie of the Year Award

Andy Kaptonak and Carson Wenger are this year's rookies of the year. Kaptonak manned left field and finished third on the team in put outs (30), with 10 of them coming in the final game of the season. Wenger played catcher and second base. He led the team in total defensive chances (70) and put outs (57).

Gold Glove Award

As stated above, Carson Wenger led the team in total chances and put outs. It wasn't even close. He led in chances by 32 and put outs by 24 over his teammates. He had a fielding percentage of .929.

Silver Slugger Award

Michael Karp is the Silver Slugger Award winner. The award goes to the team's leader in gross production average (GPA), a measurement that takes into account both on-base percentage (OBP) and slugging percentage (SLG), with OBP weighted 1.8 times as much as SLG. The result, when divided by four, can be read just like a batting average. Karp led the seven players who met the minimum plate appearances (2.4 times 11 team games = 27) to qualify. His GPA was .359. He was followed by Kevin Hendrickx (.317), Peter Atiemo (.302), Seth Anderson (.229), Jesse Olson (.200), Andy Kaptonak (.144), and Carson Wenger (.134).

Comeback Player of the Year Award

Four players earned this year's award.

Peter Atiemo batted a career-high .333 (10 for 30) this year, up from .237 (9 for 38) in 2018.  

Kevin Hendrickx batted a career-high .405 (17 for 42), an improvement of .213 over his 2018 batting average of .192 (5 for 26). He also won the award in 2015.

Michael Karp batted a career-high .448 (13 for 29) this season, up from .233 (7 for 30) in 2018.

Jesse Olson last played for the club in 2015. He posted a 2-1 record with one save and a 3.00 ERA in 24 innings pitched this season. He did not allow an earned run in a complete-game effort in the 2-0 playoffs loss against Ashland. He also batted a career-high .269.

Mr. Versatility Award

Seth Anderson is the Sea Dogs' 2019 Mr. Versatility Award recipient. Anderson pitched and played second base, center field, and right field. He also earned the award in 2018. 

Click here to see a list of all of the club's awards, going back to 2007.